Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-04-11 - 1:03 p.m.

Hi there. This I my very first blog entry. I have to say that I�m actually quite frightened. You see, I know my little sister is going to read it, and her Blog is witty, and insightful, and interesting, and above all well written (not to mention grammatically correct). Something I fear mine will NEVER be. Oh, I�ll use spell check, when I remember, but I�m sure I will change tenses, write run-on sentences, write incomplete thoughts, and other very offensive things to you writer-types. I apologize in advance. But hell, I�m not the writer in the family, I�m the musician!

My sister swears that this should just be a �stream of consciousness� kind of blog and grammar shouldn�t matter. Hey! I�ve read reviews of other blogs on Diaryland and spelling and punctuation are KEY! So OK, I can�t write, I can�t spell, and I can�t keep a cohesive thought going. So sue me! Geez� Ok, with that bit of neuroses spewed, I�ll continue with my entry.

Today I am bored at work. As I am every day. I am a frustrated musician with a dot.com day job. I suppose I should just count myself lucky that I even HAVE a job (which I do), but oh how I long for a job with meaning! My current job is to take useless content, code boring crap around it, post it on the web, and help the incredibly internet-challenged financial sector take online courses. Oh the joy. My co-workers are nice. In fact I get along fairly well with most of them (there are only 12). The real nightmare of my job is the CEO. We�ll call her Pearls. I call her this because she is the exact antithesis of me, exactly everything I hate, she is a republican, ex-cheerleader, ex-sorority girl, know-it-all, self proclaimed genius, who�s motto is �never underestimate the power of a short skirt� (oh and she wears a string of pearls every day). Need I say more? OK I will� She has slept with at least two of the board members of this company and dated an investor for his money. She is currently dating a married board member. (Sadly all of this is public knowledge, she even brags about it). On meeting days she often wears the lowest cut blouses imaginable and leans into the conversation squeezing her ample bosom up at you. Maybe in an attempt to distract you from her extreme stupidity. Apparently it works wonders with the male population. I mean she has managed to make herself the CEO of her own venture capital backed WEB company in the worst economic times in recent history. Ahhhh the power of the pussy. OH yeah and she�s younger than me� bitch�

To make this scenario even worse, her FATHER works here. He is a big republican, redneck, blow hard, who once told me that we should nuke the middle east out of existence. What a charmer. He hates me. She hates me. The only reason they haven�t laid me off is because they NEED me. For a supposed �high-tech� company, there is NOTHING high-tech here. The IT guy and I are the only people here who know anything about anything (and trust me, I don�t know that much). Luckily our clientele is even less web-savvy.

OK so other than working this stupid job, I play in three rock bands. I�ll rant and rave and shameless self promote later. But they are: Space Vacuum from Outer Space, ArmaGetItoN!, and Venus Bleeding. All have their own redeeming qualities and drawbacks, so I�ve found it difficult to give up any of them. OH did I mention I�m a Gemini? Jack of all trades, Master of NONE! Fits me to a tee� I�ve been listening to the Ficsherspooner CD and he uses a term that I love and must now steal� Hyper-Mediocrity� I love it. I live it.

OK that�s enough for now. Suck it up! You only live twice�

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!