Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-05-14 - 2:27 p.m.

So tomorrow�s blog should be interesting (I hope). Tonight I might break up one of my bands tonight. It�s been my serious musical endeavor for the past 7 years. We�ve done fairly well for ourselves, considering we�ve never had a manager, a record label, a booking agent� nothing. It�s all been DIY. We�ve played the Fillmore in San Francisco twice (my dream gigs!), we won an SF Weekly Wammie two years ago for best SF rock band, we�ve played with some pretty big bands (Le Tigre, The Fixx, Nerfherder, The Fuzztones, The Raveonettes� and many, many other bands). It�s been a good run. The singer from Third Eye Blind told me that he was a big fan of mine. Pretty cool� Anyway I think its time has run out, we�ve lost that lovin� feelin�, and our bass player (SW) of 10 years just quit. She and I were the only pseudo-responsible members of the band and did everything. When our drummer quit, I set up over 20 auditions, did anyone else? No� SW paid the rent and kept up the website, which has now fallen to me. Paying the rent is the most annoying job. Trying to extract money from my band mates is impossible, this month I just paid it and now they OWE me money, which sucks. She and I did everything, and the thought of me doing it all by myself is horrifying. I�ve already set up 4 auditions for bass players. Has anyone said thanks? No� Am I getting shit from them for the songs we�re auditioning with? Yes� Is everyone thoroughly apathetic? YES! I�m over it� So tonight will be interesting to say the least.

For our singer, it�s almost her whole life, her whole identity. So I feel sorry for her. Our guitarist is just way too caught up in her own problems to deal. That�s a whole �nuther LONG story�

So check back tomorrow for an update.

Besides Space Vacuum is going to be HUGE! Heh�

Oh yesterday's blog freaked out my sister, which is understandable. Maybe I'll just keep to less serious issues... I like to sweep that shit under the rug anyway :)

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!