Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-06-24 - 11:48 a.m.

Nature vs. Nurture


Yesterday illustrated how two sisters can have the same genes, the same parents, grow up in the same environment and still be complete opposites. Here�s the scenario (from my obviously skewed perspective). I needed money (still do actually). So my sister Mnvnjnsn suggested that I sell a violin to my sister K. My nephew has become quite the violinist and will soon need a full sized violin. I have the violin that I learned on. Its very pretty, not a Stradivarius but not worthless, and needs a little work. I asked my mom what she paid for it and she said $600. So I offered it to my sister K for $600 which included a bow (worth about $50), and a case (worth about $50). She said she would take up the offer with her husband. Yesterday I got an email from her saying that $600 was a little pricey but I could bring up the violin to get appraised and she would give me the appraised value. I of course took that to mean that she didn�t trust me and thought I was trying to screw her on the value of the violin. I sort of figured that family provenance was worth SOMETHING� but I guess not. So, I got huffy and complained to E. She said she was sorry she suggested it. I wrote K back and said �forget it�. Meanwhile K calls E to complain about me! Poor E, right in the middle of the overly conservative K and the overly lackadaisical Me� Anyway, a couple of emails later, K and I have squelched our bristly-ness and worked it out.

Anyway, the point of all of this is how can two sisters, only four years apart, with essentially the same genetics and upbringing be SO completely different? Is it that she�s a Leo and I�m a Gemini? She went to college in Virginia and I went to UC Davis? She�s a Lawyer and I�m a wanna-be rockstar? We�ve always been very different. K is a funk. She�s moody, bossy, bitchy, egotistical. I�m sure I have my flaws, but I can�t think of them right now� E any adjectives come to mind? Hehe don�t answer that�

Don�t get me wrong, I love my sisters� it�s just weird how different we are. E and I are a lot more alike I think.

So was it Nature? I don�t think so� Nurture? Nope not that either�.

I've decided that it's THE ORCHESTRA. Let me illustrate. She plays the Oboe and I play the violin. Oboists are egoistst, competitive, always working to be first chair, play the solo, date the Enlishhorn-guy. MOST Violinists (soloists aside) are pack animals, just trying to sound like the others, not stand out too much or the conductor will make you play the passage by yourself! Eeeeek�. I even enjoyed playing second violin� harmonies, off beats, none of that high screechy 5th position crap� I always wanted to date the percussionist or solo pianist. What�s it all mean? We may never know�

French horn players? Long passages of rests? Lots of counting? I haven�t a clue� E?

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!